Shutterstock 1851633271

Press release

European Solidarity Vaccines

Agreement on Presidency's proposal to support Member States most in need

01 Apr · 19h45

© Dimitris Barletis / Shutterstock.com

Press release

Following the informal video conference on 25 March 2021, the members of the European Council adopted a statement confirming the pro-rata population key for the allocation of vaccines and tasked the Committee of Permanent Representatives (COREPER) “to address the issue of the speed of delivery of vaccines when allocating the 10 million BioNTech-Pfizer accelerated doses in the second quarter of 2021 in a spirit of solidarity”.

Today, an agreement has been reached on a one-off solution. It allows for a meaningful expression of solidarity through the distribution of close to 3 million vaccines to the Member States most in need.

19 Member States (Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain and Sweden) receive the pro-rata of 6,66 million vaccines.

Austria, Czechia and Slovenia receive the pro-rata of the 10 million vaccines.

5 Member States (Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Latvia and Slovakia) in addition to the prorata of 10 million vaccines, receive pro-rata of 2.854.654, as solidarity vaccines.